Social Media

As you may or may not know, I do not have any social media. I am a 17 year old girl so you must be thinking I am crazy! But the truth is, I am not really allowed to have anything. I mean, I have Pinterest if you count that… but most don’t. I used to have an Instagram, Snapchat, and Twitter (with my parents permission of course) but after some ladies on a group my mom belonged to told her the dangers of the app, she made me delete all my accounts.

At first, I was upset and missed them a lot. Now being a junior, all my friends and the whole world seems to keep in contact and communicate the best through social media. But honestly, I like that I don’t need it to survive. I like being different and not being dependent on getting news or drama through social media. Yes, my friends think I am crazy when I don’t know viral new terms or dances right away, but I am okay with that. Its not like I am living under a rock!

I encourage every one of you to get off your phones sometimes. Just take one hour out of your day and agree to not get on any social media for that hour. Take little steps in distancing yourself from it. I think it could be only beneficial for your mind, body, and soul. A lot of times I feel like I have to get some type of media just to make friends these days! And its terrible. I am not saying everyone who has twitter, insta, or snapchat or horrible people, but I do believe they are when they don’t talk to those around them because of the way their eyes are glued to their screen 24/7.

This blog post may seem kinda hippie, but its something I want you to take seriously and maybe learn from. Again, I encourage you to purge the amount of time staring at the screen and getting so caught up in mindless silliness so many apps present.

I hope this really helped someone out there… let me know if it did in the comments! Or let me know any thought and we can talk about it! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Social Media

  1. temporarytwo says:

    A year and a half ago, I did the same. I think its great that you found it better after all. I did too. Living with your eyes up, and not down is so much better. You are awesome, honestly. Good for you girl, I’m all for the no social-media and I’m glad you are too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

